Farewell to Greg

Dear WAPI Supporters,

In about four months, I will be stepping down as Executive Director of WAPI Community Services.  The best way to describe the past nine years for me is a roller coaster.   We all love them, there are parts like the corkscrew that everyone hates or the loop de loop that everyone loves but all-in-all, this has been, to quote the SouthEnd, a “hella filthy” ride.

I love WAPI.  It has become a big part of my life and although I am sad that it’s time to move on, I am also excited and confident in WAPI’s future.  Thanks to the hard work of our staff, our board and all of our supporters, we have been able to serve 900 youth annually for the past five years.  When I started as a WAPI prevention coordinator in 2005, we topped out at about 200.

We moved offices, we got grants, won awards, got on TV,  we built a studio and a venue, we started a hip hop program with Blue Scholars and Ab Creole, we knocked down walls, we killed mice, we went camping, we had shows, we made CDs, we did culturally relevant prevention and treatment for Youth of Color in Seattle.  Most importantly, we saw young people grow up into responsible, productive and healthy adults.

So this is not goodbye.  I will continue to help with Katalyst as a teaching artist and I will consult here and there as needed.  So you will see me around for sure.  But I just wanted to say thank you to all of the people that I’ve crossed paths with during my time here at WAPI.  Whether you were a former WAPI youth, staff, board member, funder, mentor, community partner, or just a good ol’ supporter and donor,  it has been an honor to work with all of you to strengthen this community.

Sincerely,

Greg Garcia

One comment

Leave a Reply

